Harrington Street Public School logo

Harrington Street Public School

Harrington Street Public School

Enriching Lives Through Learning

Telephone02 9604 4002


Key learning areas

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the primary years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in six key learning areas (KLAs):

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science and technology.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students. This includes providing Community Language classes for our students in Vietnamese, Chinese, Khmer and Japanese.

To learn more about curriculum in NSW, visit:
NSW Department of Education – key learning areas
NESA’s Parent Guide – Schooling in NSW which provides information about learning stages, key learning areas and syllabuses
NSW Department of Education policy – Curriculum planning and programming, assessing and reporting to parents K–12